Faculty of Education

faculty img

Prof. Dinesh Kumar

Phone : 7991200752

Email : dean_education@lkouniv.ac.in

The Faculty of Education came into existence in the year 1978. Earlier the first step was taken when a course in B.Ed.Sc. was launched in 1944 and then in 1953 it was culminated into a full-fledged Department in the Faculty of Arts. 1978 was the year when it acquired the status of independent Faculty. Since then the Faculty has not looked back and is proud of some outstanding achievements. 

Today it feels distinguished and privileged for having the first ever Department of Education in UP that was conferred the status of an Institute of Advanced Studies in Education (IASE) by the Central Ministry of HRD in 1994. The Faculty has produced many luminaries such as Prof. S. N. Jha, Prof. R. B. Mathur, Prof. S. P. Chaube and Prof. S. R. Jaiswal. Two of our Faculty members Prof. R. J. Singh and Prof. Anil Kumar Shukla have added glory to the history of Faculty of Education by giving their remarkable contribution as Vice Chancellor in different State Universities.

The Faculty also has pride in having various Epoch Making Centers such as Sri Aurobindo Center, Swami Vivekananda Center and Center of Gandhian Thoughts. Also, U. P. Government has conferred upon it the prestigious status of Centre of Excellence for undertaking various academic and research related activities.